Archive

Archive for January 24, 2010

“You’ve Done Remarkably Well”

January 24, 2010 Leave a comment

My doctor was looking at my results on the computer from a recent series of tests that she gets me to on a six monthly basis. Every one of the test results was better than average or even beyond that. She turned in her chair and said to me, “you’ve done remarkably well, how did you do it?”

I’m not one to talk about stuff like that usually but there you go.

How did I do it? I switched the LifeChange switch, followed the professionals advice and took this on as a real challenge for me knowing I wanted to enjoy as much as possible of my coming years. I talked to the doctor about weight loss and eating habits and sticking to the diet.

She asked me to get on the scales.  It read 80 KG. She then showed my record card from when I was first diagnosed, there it was in black and white 100KG!

I was very pleased. We talked about this and I reminded her of what she said originally on how I might do everything right and still have to go on medication or insulin. That may happen but I’m going to give it my best though.

I am very happy at these results and proud of the work I’ve done with the assistance of my very good doctor and the para-professionals she’s directed me to.

I’ve discovered cycling too! What a bonus.

These are the tests I had last week. FBE LFT Urea, electrolytes, creatinine, Lipid studies, ( chols/ trig HDL (including LDL) glycosolidated haemoglobin Hb Alc FBG spot urine for micro albumen.

On another matter this is a really inspiring article from the AGE in Melbourne. Click here

A Dog’s life

Categories: Uncategorized